Facebook Is Really Good At Guilt Tripping

by Chiara Atik · May 10, 2010

Well, this made us laugh. Apparently, when you click to deactivate your Facebook account, a screen pops up that says "Are you sure you want to deactivate your account?" That's to be expected. But it ALSO adds: "Your [# of friends] will no longer be able to keep in touch with you." Hadn't thought of THAT, had you, Facebook quitter?-




It gets better. Facebook then goes through and chooses pictures of you tagged with random friends, displays these pictures with the caption "So and so will miss you!". It's basically internet equivalent of a puppy-dog face.

Thanks for the guilt trip Facebook, but I'm pretty sure that the 30 or so of my 600ish friends that I actually want to keep in touch with will be able to reach me just fine despite not having the option of writing on my wall. You're addictive, but we'd be JUST fine without you, thank you very much!

(Although it must be noted that in the writing of this post, I couldn't even bear to click "Deactivate Account" to get my own screenshot of the last page, because what if something went wrong and it actually deleted my account? WHAT WOULD I DO THEN?!???!!!??! So I used Jakob's screenshot. To be safe.)