Inside The American Ballet Theatre Spring Gala 2011

by Christina Makoyawo · May 17, 2011

    Last night , American Ballet Theatre brought out NYC's elite to help celebrate the opening of its 71st Anniversary Season at the Metropolitan Opera House with the annual Spring Gala. Honorary Chairmen were First Lady Michelle Obama, Caroline Kennedy, Carolina Herrera and Blaine Trump.

    The evening featured a one-time only performance of excerpts from the upcoming season by American Ballet Theatre’s world-renowned dancers as well as a special tribute to Principal Dancer Jose Manuel Carreno on his farewell season,  as well as an elegant black tie dinner dance in the Tent at Lincoln Center took place after the performances.

    Some of the famous faces in attendance were Prince, Denis O’Hare, Alice and Lorne Michaels, Anna Wintour, Zang Toi, Tory Burch and Lyor Cohen, Naeem and Ranjana Khan, Helen and Tim Schifter, Christian Siriano, Angel Sanchez, Narciso Rodriguez, Tyne Daly, Terrence McNally, Al Roker, Fe Fendi and Alessandro Fendi, Elletra Wiedemann, Lynda Carter, Susan Fales-Hill, Jamee and Peter Gregory, Jill and Bobby Zarin, Alexandra Lebenthal, Anka Palitz, Sharon Patrick and Miss Universe 2010 Angela Martini.

    [via] Anna Wintour

    Jamie Tisch, Naeem Khan, Tory Burch

    Caroline Kennedy, Kevin Mckenzie

    [via] Carolina Herrera, Elettra Wiedemann

    Lynda Carter, Deborah Norville

    Jill Zarin, Zang Toi, Irina Dvorovenko

    [via] Christian Siriano

    [via] Carly Cushnie, Michelle Ochs

    Kevin Mckenzie, Rachel Moore, Blaine Trump, Nancy Mccormick, Zach Vella

    [Unless otherwise stated, photo credit: Joe/ BillyFarrellAgency]