Sigourney Weaver And Cynthia Nixon Attend The 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards

by HANNAH LAWRENCE · March 15, 2010

    sandra bernhard

    Sigourney Weaver, Alan Cummings, Cynthia Nixon, Sandra Bernhard, Jill Zarin and Joy Behar attended the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards at the Mariott Marquis on Saturday, anda few of them even walked away with some trophies.

    Click HERE to see more photos by Santiago Felipe and tag yourself and your friends!

    Cynthia Nixon was awarded the Vito Russo Award, which is bestowed upon a gay member of the media who has worked tirelessly to promote equal rights for the GLBT community, and Joy Behar received the Excellence in Media Award for her work on "The View." But awards didn't just go to individuals -- they also went to the shows who weren't afraid to incorporate gay storylines into episodes or investigative reports. Some of the recognized shows included NBC's "Parks and Recreation," MSNBC's "The Rachel Maddow Show," and a report on CNN's "American Morning" called "Why We Won't Pledge Allegiance."

    The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation advocates fair and inclusive representation of people in the media, so as to eradicate widespread homophobia and discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity. They consider the media and its various outlets as tools to break the stereotypes about homosexuality and gender.

    dustin lance blackalan cummingsjoy beharcynthia nixonjill zarinjay manuelsigourney weaverrosie perez