Playwrights Thank Their Lucky Stars At Annual Dramatist Guild Benefit Gala

by Chiara Atik · April 21, 2009

    [Rosie O'Donnell, Angela Lansbury. All photos by AMBER DE VOS for PMc] Broadway's brightest stars gathered at The Hudson Theater to honor Rosie O'Donnell and her non-profit, Rosie's Broadway Kids, as part of The Dramatist Guild Fund's annual benefit gala. The performance portion of the evening, entitled "Star Turns: Great Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars", featured actors such as Idina Menzel, Karen Olivo, James Earl Jones, Angela Lansbury, and Jefferson Mays, introduced by the writers whose work they made famous. Amongst the many illustrious writers in attendance were Doug Wright, Marsha Norman, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Christopher Durang, and Stephen Schwartz. The mission of the Dramatist Guild is "to aid and nurture writers for the theater".

    Karen Olivo, Lin-Manuel Miranda              Lynn Cohen

    Stephen Schwartz, Idina Menzel            Christopher Durang

    Julienne Marie, James Earl Jones

    Liz Calloway Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty

    Doug Wright, Jefferson Mays

    Terrence McNally                             Marsha Norman